“Every traveler has a home of his own, and he learns to appreciate it more from his wondering.”

This post is about being home. 

HOME: A place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to.

I heard complaints from just about everyone I grew up with about living here. We couldn’t wait until we were old enough to finally go out and do something other than living here in the country. Even I was one of those complainers. To be honest, it was and still is rather boring here. It’s not a big city by any means. A lot of the time, we could be late to school because we were stuck behind a tractor. Weekends were all about truck pulls or mud bogs. Parking lots were also the cool place to hang out. 

I wish when I was younger, I looked around for a moment to appreciate where I lived. Up the road a piece is a huge tourist area; The Outer Banks. I feel like I never embraced the close proximity I had to the beach. I realized that when I was living in Northern Virginia and everyone I met would always talk about it like it was some huge vacation destination. Every time I told someone where I was from, they always responded, “Why are you here then?” 

Now that I am home again for a short time, I’m putting a big effort into really soaking up my time here. I look at my surroundings in a different way. I am moving across the world; the sky will be different, the ground will be different, the trees, the road. I highly doubt that I will be stuck behind tractors and looking at bears basically in my backyard in Japan.

I love my home. Currituck, Virginia Beach, and Elizabeth City, I consider all my home. I have spent so much of my life in those places. 

I just wanted to share a little piece home with everyone. I hope if others read this, they too find an appreciation for our home if they haven’t already. I know I have. (Even though it still is a little boring. Haha)

My grandparents house on the river
Downtown Elizabeth City
Downtown Elizabeth City
Downtown Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Waterfront
Right beside my house

Leave a comment